Book Review: The Sisters Brothers – Patrick deWitt

by Renée Layberry

The Sisters BrothersThe Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

The comparisons at the beginning of the book liken deWitt to Cormac McCarthy, and I can see why: deWitt’s forthright clarity is refreshing. That being said, he has his own distinct style and I was quite engaged by it. I don’t consider myself to be a fan of either crime or westerns, but Sisters Brothers was an absorbing read. The dialogue was good, the imagery visceral, the characters relatively vivid and the resolution satisfying. I can see this being a movie, and it very much played out that way in my imagination. I’m simply glad I read this book, and will look forward to more of deWitt’s wordsmithing in the future.

View all my reviews

